Mayor and City Council

The city is governed by a council-manager form of government where the City Council sets city policy and the City Manager is responsible for city operations.

The council consists of a mayor and eight council members. All council members are elected for three-year terms. Elected officials are under a mixed system of single-member districts and at-large seats.

City of Irving District Map   

At-Large Districts

At-large candidates are elected to represent the whole city; all voters can vote for candidates running for an at-large seat. At-large candidates may reside in any area of the city.

Seats: Mayor, District 2, District 8

Single-Member Districts

A single-member district is a geographically defined voter district represented by a single elected official. Only registered voters that live within the specified district's boundaries can vote for candidates who run for seat in the district. Candidates must live in the single-member district in which they run.

Seats: District 1, District 3, District 4, District 5, District 6, District 7