News Flash

City of Irving News

Posted on: July 20, 2020

Irving Recognized for Building Codes, Ordinances

City Manager Chris Hillman with Irving BOAT recipients.

Since 1962, the Building Officials Association of Texas (BOAT) has been dedicated to raising standards for the administration and enforcement of building codes and ordinances. Each year, BOAT recognizes and awards recipients in various categories. Irving received four of the six awards presented at the annual conference, which was cancelled this year due to COVID.

Administrative Professionals are individuals who work on the front line or rear echelon and diligently promote and enhance service delivery to the citizens of Texas. Congratulations to Code Enforcement’s Monica Gutierrez for being named BOAT’s 2020 Administrative Professional of the Year.

Building Official of the Year Award was established to honor outstanding professionals in the field. It is only given to a building official and one who is dedicated to life safety and public welfare. For these reasons, Inspection’s Director Wayne Snell was named 2020 BOAT Building Official of the Year.

The Public Official of the Year merit award is intended for those public officials who promote safety in the built environment. Through his engagement and support of Code Enforcement and Inspection activities; his active involvement with economic development projects; and respectful interactions with staff, customers and elected officials, it is no doubt why Assistant City Manager Philip Sanders was named 2020 Public Official of the Year.

Competing with both large and small cities throughout the state of Texas, Irving was selected by BOAT to receive the 2020 Excellence in Code Enforcement award. This award recognizes a municipality that promotes/enhances/takes steps necessary to provide superior service delivery through certification/education/ quality inspections processes.

City Manager Chris Hillman with Irving BOAT recipients.

City Manager Chris Hillman (far left) with Irving BOAT recipients (L to R): Phillip Sanders, Wayne Snell, Teresa Adrian, Monica Gutierrez.

Facebook Twitter Email