News Flash

Irving Legislative Insider

Posted on: March 29, 2021

Update: House Bill 754 - Texas Legislation Could End Local Apartment Inspection Program

HB754

The House Committee on Urban Affairs scheduled a hearing on HB 754 on Wednesday, March 31. The legislation, if approved, would force cities to reduce their inspection fees charged to multifamily complex owners. Irving collects the fees to fund its apartment inspection program. View the Public Hearing notice.

Irving has the second-highest number of apartments in Dallas County. The inspection program, conducted annually, has resulted in improvements to the safety of multifamily units for residents, visitors and neighboring property owners since instituted in 2008. The program is paid for by apartment inspection fees, and this reduction could result in the city curtailing its program.

On March 25, the Irving City Council unanimously approved a resolution opposing HB 754.

For those interested in this legislation, contact members of the House Urban Affairs Committee via phone or email. View House members’ phone numbers and other contact information.

Chair: Rep. Philip Cortez, Philip.Cortez@house.texas.gov
Vice Chair: Rep. Justin Holland, Justin.Holland@house.texas.gov

Members:
Rep. Diego Bernal, Diego.Bernal@house.texas.gov
Rep. Liz Campos , Liz.Campos@house.texas.gov
Rep. Gary Gates, Gary.Gates@house.texas.gov
Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson, Jarvis.Johnson@house.texas.gov
Rep. Ina Minjarez, Ina.Minjarez@house.texas.gov
Rep. Penny Morales Shaw, Penny.MoralesShaw@house.texas.gov
Rep. Bryan Slaton, Bryan.Slaton@house.texas.gov