News Flash

Irving Legislative Insider

Posted on: April 7, 2021

Update: Texas Legislation Could End Local Apartment Inspection Program

HB754

The House Committee on Urban Affairs heard testimony March 31 on HB 754, which would reduce by 90 percent the revenue available to the City of Irving for its apartment inspection program.

Interested parties can watch the archived hearing video. The HB 754 hearing is located at the 5:30:00 time mark.

Earlier this week, Irving sent follow-up information to the committee.

Irving has the second-highest number of apartments in Dallas County. The inspection program, conducted annually, has resulted in improvements to the safety of multifamily units for residents, visitors and neighboring property owners since instituted in 2008. The program is paid for by apartment inspection fees, and this reduction could result in the city curtailing its program.

On March 25, the Irving City Council unanimously approved a resolution opposing HB 754.

For those interested in this legislation, contact members of the House Urban Affairs Committee via phone or email. View House members’ phone numbers and other contact information.

Chair: Rep. Philip Cortez, Philip.Cortez@house.texas.gov
Vice Chair: Rep. Justin Holland, Justin.Holland@house.texas.gov

Members:
Rep. Diego Bernal, Diego.Bernal@house.texas.gov
Rep. Liz Campos , Liz.Campos@house.texas.gov
Rep. Gary Gates, Gary.Gates@house.texas.gov
Rep. Jarvis D. Johnson, Jarvis.Johnson@house.texas.gov
Rep. Ina Minjarez, Ina.Minjarez@house.texas.gov
Rep. Penny Morales Shaw, Penny.MoralesShaw@house.texas.gov
Rep. Bryan Slaton, Bryan.Slaton@house.texas.gov